Dr. Lance McMahon

Lance R. McMahon, Ph.D., appointed chair of the department of pharmacodynamics

McMahon joins UF from the University of Texas Health San Antonio where he served as an associate professor in the department of pharmacology

From Peptides to Preeminence

A decade-long collaboration leads Drs. Jane Aldrich and Jay McLaughlin to UF as Preeminence scholars.

Researchers: Body fat can send signals to brain, affecting stress response

UF Health researchers assist in the discovery of a novel fat-to-brain feedback network.

Prev Next

About Us

The department of pharmacodynamics is highly integrative and collaborative, spanning the gap between cellular and systems physiology. Faculty study the mechanisms of normal physiology, pathophysiology and drug action in stress, anxiety, addiction, pain, neuroinflammation and cardiovascular and metabolic diseases. These researchers are successful in securing millions of dollars in grant funding each year from sources such as NIH, NIMH, the Department of Defense and the American Heart Association. In addition, the department offers a doctoral degree program that allows aspiring scientists to study under the direction of pharmacodynamics faculty and collaborate across the health science campus at the University of Florida.

Featured Video

Student Profile: Lei Wang

Student Profile: Lei Wang

Fact Sheet

Fact Sheet