Pharmacodynamics faculty win multiple college awards at retreat

Faculty from the department of pharmacodynamics received various awards at the College of Pharmacy faculty retreat in June. 

Joanna Peris and Dean Johnson
Joanna Peris receives the 2019 Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award from Dean Julie Johnson.

Associate professor Joanna Peris, Ph.D., won two awards: the 2019 Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award and the 2018–2019 Outstanding Year 3 Teaching Team Award. 

Peris’s work with the UF pharmaceutical fraternity Kappa Epsilon won her the advisor award. Her students said she supported the organization throughout the year regularly by attending meetings, holding the fraternity’s biggest fundraiser at her own home and continually encouraging members to be their absolute best.

Peris won the team teaching award alongside Shannon Miller, Pharm.D., John Markowitz, Pharm.D., and Chris McCurdy, Ph.D. for an especially engaging lesson on psychotic spectrum disorders.

Jenny Wilkerson and Lance McMahon with Dean Johnson
Jenny Wilkerson and Lance McMahon receive the college’s Media Excellence Award at the 2019 faculty retreat.

Jenny Wilkerson, Ph.D., a research assistant professor and Lance McMahon, Ph.D., a professor and chair of the department, received the 2018-2019 College of Pharmacy Media Excellence Award for their cannabidiol articles in The Conversation. They authored articles titled, “CBD: Rising star or popular fad?” and “CBD: The next weapon against opioid addiction?

The two articles have generated over 78,000 views and more than 30 media outlets have republished them.